Composition of Rajya Sabha

1. Rajya Sabha is composed of not more than 250 members, of whom (a) 12

members shall be nominated by the President; and (b) the remaining (that is

238 members) shall be representatives of the States and the Union Territories

elected by the method of indirect election (Art.80).

2. The 12 nominated members shall be chosen by the President from amongst

persons having 'special knowledge or practical experience in literature,

science, art, and social service'. The Constitution thus

adopts the principle

of nomination for giving distinguished persons a place in the upper Chamber.

3. The representatives from each State shall be elected by the elected members

of the Legislative Assembly of the respective State in accordance with the

system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable

vote system.3

4. The representatives of the Union Territories shall be chosen in a manner, as

prescribed by the Parliament. Parliament prescribes

representatives of Union

Territories to be indirectly elected by members of an electoral college4

of that Territory, in accordance with the system of proportional representation

by means of single transferable vote system.

Federal representation to the Rajya Sabha has a large variance in terms of 1

member from the State of Nagaland to that of 31 members from the State of

Uttar Pradesh reflecting the federal nature of our country.

Composition of Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha has a variegate composition. The Constitution prescribes for

composition given, as follows:

1) Not more than 530 representatives are to be elected by people of States. The

representatives from the states shall be directly elected by the people of the

states on the basis of adult suffrage. Every citizen, who is not less than 18

years of age and is not otherwise disqualified e.g., by reason of non-residence,

unsoundness of mind, crime or corrupt or illegal practice, shall be entitled

to vote. There will be no reservation of seats for any minority community

other than the scheduled castes and scheduled tribes.

2) Not more than 20 representatives of Union Territories will be directly elected,

as per law prescribed by the parliament for the purpose.

3) Not more than 2 members of the Anglo-Indian community, nominated by

the President, if he/she is of opinion that the Anglo-Indian community is not

adequately represented in the House of People.

Owing to these provisions the entire county is divided into suitable territorial

constituencies for purpose of holding elections to the lower house. The territorial

constituencies are bifurcated in a manner that the ratio of the population in each

constituency stands represented to the number of seats allotted to.

Qualifications

The qualifications that are required in order to be chosen, as a member of

Parliament, are given below:

1) The person must be a citizen of India.

2) He/she must be not less than 30 years of age to be a member of Rajya

Sabha; and not less than 25 years of age in case of Lok Sabha.

Additional qualifications can be prescribed by Parliament by law.

A person stands to be disqualified on the basis of either of the grounds, as a

member of either House of Parliament, if he/she:

1) holds an office of profit under the Government of India or Government of

any State, other than an office exempted by Parliament by law.

2) Has an unsound mind and stands so declared by a competent court.
3) Is insolvent.
4) Is not a citizen of India or has voluntarily acquired citizenship of a foreign State or is under acknowledgement of allegiance or adherence to a foreign
power.
5) Is disqualified by or under any law of the Parliament.
Duration of Term of Houses

Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and not subject to

dissolution. Only 1/3 of its

members retire on the expiration of every second year. An election is conducted

to fill-in 1/3 of its members in the beginning of every third year. The order of

retirement of the members is governed by the Rajya Sabha (Term of Office of

Members) Order, 1952.

On the other hand, Lok Sabha is elected for a period of 5 years, but it can also be

dissolved before the completion of its term by the President. Also, its normal

term can get extended by an Act during an emergency period. However, there is

a limit to this extention. The Act lays down that the extension cannot be made for

a period exceeding one year at a time and also such an extension cannot continue

beyond a period of six months after the emergency ceases to operate.

Sessions

The President has the power to summon, prorogue, and dissolve the lower house.

The Constitution requires the President to summon each of the Houses at such

intervals that six months shall not intervene between the last sitting of the House

in one session and the date appointed for its first sitting in the next session. The

net result of this provision is that Parliament must meet at least twice a year and

not more than six months shall lapse between the date on, which the House is

prorogued and the next session is commenced.

It would, in this context, be proper to understand certain terms used in relation to

the Parliament. Transaction of business takes place when the Parliament is in

session. Within a session, there are a number of daily sittings on different important

areas. There may be adjournments that do not put an end but merely postpones

the further transaction of business for a specified time that may be hours, days or

weeks. While prorogation merely terminates a session, dissolution brings down

the term of the lower house to an end, calling for a fresh election.

Activity

Express your views on Parliamentary any elections in our country. (cost factor,

representative factor especially gender and disadvantaged groups etc.) .